Yoga Knowledge – May 2017

Stages of yoga

“The primary aim of yoga is to restore the mind to simplicity, peace, and poise, to free it from confusion and distress. This simplicity, this sense of order and calm, comes from the practice of asanas and pranayama. Yoga asanas integrate the body, the mind, the intelligence, and, finally, the self, in four stages. The first stage, arambhavastha, is one in which we practice at the level of the physical body.

The second stage is ghatavastha, when the mind learns to move in unison with the body. The third level of parichayavastha occurs when the intelligence and the body become one. The final stage is nishpattyavastha, the state of perfection. Spiritual awareness flows into the student of yoga through these stages. Duhkha, which is misery or pain, vanishes, and the art of living in simplicity and peace is realized.” Iyengar 2014

Posted in Uncategorized.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.